Aerial view of campus with Williamsport, the Susquehanna River and Bald Eagle Mountain as a backdrop

Lycoming College appoints six faculty members with endowed professorships

Lycoming College is pleased to announce the appointments of endowed professorships to six faculty members. Made possible by established gifts to the College, endowed professorships are one of the highest honors that Lycoming awards faculty members to recognize a career marked by exceptional teaching, scholarship, and service.

The Shangraw Chair in the Liberal Arts was awarded to Sascha Feinstein, Ph.D., professor of English.

The John P. Graham Endowed Teaching Professorship was reappointed to Gary R. Hafer, Ph.D., professor of English.

The M.B. Rich Chair was awarded to Steven Johnson, Ph.D., associate professor of religion.

The Logan A. Richmond Professorship was awarded to Sandra Kingery, Ph.D, professor of modern language studies.

The Frank and Helen Lowry Professorship was reappointed to Chriss McDonald, Ph.D., professor of chemistry.

The Robert and Mary Jackson Shangraw Professorship was reappointed to Mehrdad Madresehee, Ph.D., professor of economics.

Recipients are competitively chosen by their peers from among the full professors at the College, and retain their positions for a five-year period. Each nominee receives the support and approval of Philip Sprunger, Ph.D., provost and dean of the College, the faculty endowed chair review committee, President Kent Trachte, Ph.D., and the board of trustees.

“Lycoming College’s strong academics stem in part from a culture of teaching excellence in the classroom and professional success outside of it,” said Sprunger. “These faculty members exemplify some of the best Lycoming has to offer, and the honors bestowed upon them are meant to recognize their achievements.”