Aerial view of campus with Williamsport, the Susquehanna River and Bald Eagle Mountain as a backdrop

AAEB Awards

Alumni Association Awards Honorees

(L to R) Lycoming College’s 2024 AAEB Alumni Award honorees Robert Martin '95, Jordan Hollander '10, Frank Kindler '77, and Herbert Wolfe '93 

Lycoming College graduates have succeeded in many ways — personally, professionally, and in support of the College. To recognize outstanding members of the Lycoming community, the following awards are presented annually.

Nominate someone for an AAEB award

Angela R. Kyte Outstanding Alumnus Award

Given in honor of an alumnus/a who has demonstrated a lifetime of service to humanity and whose life exemplifies those qualities encouraged and fostered at Lycoming College and by its predecessor institutions.

Angela (Vaira) Kyte '73

After graduating in 1973, Angela remained active in the Lycoming College campus community by serving on the Board of Trustees and on the Alumni Association Executive Board. She was a committed advocate for education, and demonstrated her support by endowing the Kyte Family Scholarship to help New Jersey students attend Lycoming College. While September 11, 2001, marked Angela's passing in the World Trade Center tragedies, Angela will always be remembered for her passionate, caring, and loving personality.


  • 2024 — Robert Martin ’95
  • 2023 — Joseph Kaczmarczyk ’74
  • 2022 — Norman Medow ’60
  • 2021 — Janice (Martin) Mitchell '66
  • 2020 — Kristin Nash '95
  • 2019 — Ronald A. Frick '83


Dr. James E. Douthat Outstanding Achievement Award

Given in recognition of an alumnus/a who has achieved a significant accomplishment that reflects positively on Lycoming College and/or its predecessor institutions. This could be in a professional field or another area of accomplishment.

Dr. James E. Douthat '13H, President Emeritus

Dr. James E. Douthat served Lycoming College as the third-longest tenured president in the history of the college until his retirement in June 2013. Among many institutional achievements, Dr. Douthat's legacy of extensive enhancements to the college included a remarkable leap in the endowment, expansion of academic programs, and improvements to Lycoming's physical campus. Under his direction, Lycoming began its consistent ranking as a Tier 1 institution by U.S. News & World Report. Dr. Douthat will be remembered for his 24 years of leadership in both the Lycoming College and Williamsport communities.


  • 2024 — Herbert Wolfe ’93
  • 2023 — Jessica (Curry) Kavanagh ’01
  • 2022 — P. Kevin Brobson ’92
  • 2021 — Gerald Lechliter '67
  • 2020 — Peter Onorati '75
  • 2019 — Paul Fochtman '90


Dale V. Bower Service Award

Given to an individual for outstanding service rendered to Lycoming College. The recipient may or may not be a Lycoming alumnus/a.

Dale V. Bower '59

Dale V. Bower received an honorary Doctor of Laws degree from Lycoming College in 1998, upon retiring from the College with 30 years of service. He served as Lycoming's first director of planned giving and first full-time director of alumni affairs, holding each position for 15 years. The 1974 and 1986 Arrow yearbooks were dedicated to him. The Bowers' home was said to be an annex of Lycoming College, hosting alumni events, out-of-town alumni and friends, and overflow on Homecoming weekend. In 1979, Dale was the first recipient of the award named for him, the Dale V. Bower Service Award.


  • 2024 — Frank Kindler ’77
  • 2023 — Robert Burger ’85
  • 2022 — Douglas Keiper ’68
  • 2021 — Paul Henry '66
  • 2020 — Seth Burch '89
  • 2019 — Melvin Zimmerman 


Taunia Oechslin Young Alumni Award

Given to a graduate of Lycoming College who has made significant contributions to his/her profession, demonstrates leadership and accomplishment in his/her career, exemplifies outstanding service and volunteerism to the college or the community during the first 15 years since graduating from Lycoming College, and whose ongoing work reflects positively on the college.

Taunia (Halcrow) Oechslin '92

Taunia dedicated her life to helping others. Along with serving on the Lycoming College Alumni Association Executive Board, she worked with the American Red Cross and volunteered for numerous nonprofit groups. Through her personal fight against breast cancer, Taunia became an advocate for women everywhere. She coordinated fundraising events and was featured in public service ads for the Joyce Murtha Breast Care Center. Although Taunia eventually lost her battle with cancer, she will always be remembered for her charitable efforts and loving heart.


  • 2024 — Jordan S.F. Hollander ’10
  • 2023 — Jordan (Snyder) Windish ’10
  • 2022 — Jessica (Gough) Hartman ’07
  • 2021 — Josemar Castillo '06
  • 2020 — Lisa (Stutzman) Hoffman '05
  • 2019 — Amilcar Guzman '08