Aerial view of campus with Williamsport, the Susquehanna River and Bald Eagle Mountain as a backdrop

Past Speakers

Lycoming College Commencement Speakers 1991 – 2023

Year Speaker About Speaker
2023 Alicia Tillman Chief Marketing Officer for Delta, 1997 Alumna
2022 Dr. Brenda Alston-Mills Emerita Trustee, Biology Professor Emerita at North Carolina State University, 1966 Alumna
2021 Dr. Stanley W. Sloter Chair of Board of Trustees, President of Paradigm Companies, 1980 Alumnus
2020 Dr. Kent Trachte President of Lycoming College
2019 Steven P. Johnson President of UPMC Susquehanna, 1976 Alumnus
2018 Thomas H. Woodruff, Jr. Co-Founder of Amalgated Dynamics, Inc., Academy Award Winner, 1980 Alumnus
2017 Mary Ann Schmitt-Carey President of Say Yes to Education
2016 Gov. Rafael Moreno Valle Governor of Puebla, Mexico, 1991 Alumnus
2015 Hon. Thomas I. Vanaskie Circuit Judge for the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit, 1975 Alumnus
2014 Dr. Gene L. Dodaro Comptroller General of the United States, 1973 Alumnus
2013 Dr. James E. Douthat 14th president of Lycoming College from 1989-2013
2012 Dr. David L. Warren President of NAICU
2011 Dr. Arthur A. Haberberger Chairman of the Lycoming College Board of Trustees, 1959 Alumnus
2010 Dr. L. Gregory Jones Dean and Professor of Theology, Duke Divinity School
2009 Dr. Elijah Anderson William K. Lanman Professor of Sociology at Yale University
2008 Dr. Sandra Steingraber Distinguished Scholar-in-Residence, Ithaca College
2007 Rev. Dr. John F. Piper, Jr. Professor Emeritus of History, and Dean Emeritus of Lycoming College
2006 Dr. William A. Turnbaugh Professor of Anthropology/Sociology at the University of Rhode Island
2005 Dr. William G. Dever Professor Emeritus of Near Eastern Archaeology and Anthropology at the University of Arizona
2004 Dr. Robert L. Shangraw Chairman of the Lycoming College Board of Trustees, 1958 Alumnus
2003 Ambassador Robert Krueger United States Ambassador to Burundi and Botswana, United States House of Representatives and United States Senator, Texas
2002 Ambassador Ismael Gaspar-Martins Republic of Angola's permanent representative to the United Nations
2001 Mr. Edmund L. Jenkins Chairman of Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) in Norwalk, Connecticut
2000 Dr. David L. Holmes College of William and Mary in Virginia - Professor of Religion
1999 Dr. Yusef Komunyakaa Winner of a Pulitzer Prize for poetry. Currently teaches at New York University
1998 Mr. James Lehrer Host of the program, NewsHour with Jim Lehrer on public broadcasting television
1997 Dr. Martin A. Marty Professor of the History of Modern Christianity at the Divinity School at the University of Chicago since 1963
1996 Dr. Louis E. Lataif Dean of the School of Management at Boston University since 1991. Twenty seven year career with Ford Motor Co., President of Ford Europe and Corporate Vice President for World Wide Quality and Marketing
1995 Dr. Gary A. Sojka Served as Bucknell University's thirteenth president for more than a decade
1994 Rev. Dr. Kenneth B. Wilson President of Westminster College, Oxford. Ordained Minister, United Methodist Church
1993 Dr. Richard E. Rosser President of National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
1992 Dr. James M. Buchanan Nobel Prize in Economics, Professor at George Mason University
1991 Dr. George E. Reedy Neiman Professor of Journalism, Marquette University, Milwaukee, Wisconsin