Aerial view of campus with Williamsport, the Susquehanna River and Bald Eagle Mountain as a backdrop

Lycoming College honors four outstanding individuals with 2024 Alumni Awards

Lycoming College honors four outstanding individuals with 2024 Alumni Awards

(L to R) Phil Levesque, Robert Martin, Jordan Hollander, Frank Kindler, Herbert Wolfe, Holly Andrews, and Lycoming President Kent Trachte

Download Image: Web

The Lycoming College Alumni Association Executive Board (AAEB) honored four remarkable individuals on Saturday, June 1, 2024, during the College’s Alumni & Reunion Weekend. Award recipients are selected by the AAEB through nominations received from alumni and other members of the College community. AAEB President Phil Levesque ’00 and Vice President Holly Andrews ’10 formally recognized the honorees at the All-Alumni Breakfast and Award Presentation held in Lamade Gymnasium.

“Lycoming College students spend four years immersed in a first-rate education that prepares them for excellence wherever they choose to direct their passion,” says Amy (Dowling) Reyes ’04, assistant vice president for alumni engagement. “The individuals honored today are remarkable examples of the impact Lycoming alumni have on their communities, their careers, and in the world. Their accomplishments bring pride to our alma mater and inspire future generations of Warriors.”

The Taunia Oechslin Young Alumna Award was conferred upon Jordan S.F. Hollander, JD, LLM, ’10. Hollander has served as a deputy attorney general for the New Jersey Department of Law and Public Safety, Division of Gaming Enforcement. He currently serves as the assistant section chief of the Casino Licensing Bureau and works on matters related to casino licensing and regulation, sports wagering, and employee licensing. He has published a number of law review articles on the topic of casino law and sports betting, and he is a frequent speaker at industry conferences and on continuing legal education panels.

The Dale V. Bower Service Award was presented to Frank M. Kindler ’77. Immediately following graduation, Kindler started working at his family’s fitness business, West Shore Health Club, and oversaw a doubling of the facility size with the addition of five racquetball courts and additional fitness areas. Eventually, he became the operating manager and oversaw all aspects of the business, including human resources, maintenance, marketing, and management. In 1994, Kindler and his brother opened a second fitness gym in Harrisburg, the East Shore Health Club. In 2004, the two decided it was best to franchise, resulting in the first Planet Fitness gyms in Pennsylvania.

The Dr. James E. Douthat Outstanding Achievement Award was bestowed upon Herbert O. Wolfe, Ph.D., ’93. Wolfe currently serves as the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s (DHS) acting chief medical officer and acting director of the Office of Health Security, overseeing all medical, public health, and workforce health and safety activities of the Department. Wolfe joined DHS in 2019 following a distinguished 25+ year career in government service. Highlights include serving as director for Medical and Public Health Preparedness Policy at the White House National Security Council and chief audit executive for the Veterans Health Administration.

The Angela R. Kyte Outstanding Alumnus Award was conferred upon Robert V. Martin ’95. Martin is a dedicated non-profit leader renowned for his tireless efforts in supporting individuals facing various challenges, including HIV, autism, epilepsy, mental health, and addiction, as well as advocating for LGBTQ+ youth and animal welfare. His career is driven by a passion for making a difference and marked by a series of impactful roles, where he has spearheaded fundraising campaigns that have not only raised vital funds, but also elevated the need to support critical services to those in marginalized communities.

Learn more about Lycoming College’s annual alumni awards here.

Useful Resources