Aerial view of campus with Williamsport, the Susquehanna River and Bald Eagle Mountain as a backdrop

Lycoming College names endowed professorships

Lycoming College has appointed endowed professorships to five faculty members beginning with the 2023-2024 academic year. Each endowed professorship is supported by a substantial gift to the College that honors both the holder of the appointment and the donor who established it.

Recipients are competitively chosen by their peers from among senior professors at the College and retain their positions for a five-year period. Each nominee is selected by the Faculty Chair Endowed Review Committee, along with the confirmation and the support of the College’s president, provost and board of trustees.

Endowed professorships remain one of the highest honors that Lycoming can bestow upon faculty members to recognize careers distinguished by exceptional teaching, scholarship, and service. The following faculty have been selected.

  • The Frank and Helen Lowry Professorship was awarded to Cullen Chandler, Ph.D., professor of history.
  • The Logan A. Richmond Endowed Professorship was awarded to Howard Tran, M.F.A., professor of art.
  • The Shangraw Chair In The Liberal Arts was reappointed to Sascha Feinstein, Ph.D., professor of English.
  • The John P. Graham Teaching Professorship was awarded to Christopher Kulp, Ph.D., professor of physics.
  • New this year, the W. Gibbs McKenney Chair in International Studies was awarded to Sandra Kingery, Ph.D., professor of Spanish.

“Lycoming College values teaching excellence and strong academics, and these endowed professorships serve to further strengthen the college, our instructional programs, and our research opportunities,” said Philip Sprunger, Ph.D., provost and dean of the faculty at Lycoming College. “It is always an honor to be able to recognize and reward some of Lycoming College’s finest senior faculty members.”