Aerial view of campus with Williamsport, the Susquehanna River and Bald Eagle Mountain as a backdrop

Twelve students inducted into the economics honors society

Twelve students inducted into the economics honors society

Download Image: Web

At a recent dinner meeting of the Lycoming College economics honors society, Omicron Delta Epsilon (ODE), twelve students were inducted into the society following a presentation by guest speaker Stephen J. Olsen ’02.

The meeting was attended by Philip Sprunger, Ph.D., provost, as well as the faculty of the economics, accounting, and business administration departments. Anne Landon, associate director for career advising, returning ODE members, and the parents of the speaker, Kurt Olsen, Ph.D., assistant professor of psychology, and Ellen Olsen also attended. For the induction, Sprunger and business and economics major Victoria Ricedorf ’20 (Liverpool, Pa.), 2018-2019 ODE president, presented the scrolls.

“It gives me great pleasure to identify outstanding former inductees and invite them to return to their alma mater to speak at the induction ceremony,” said Mehrdad Madresehee, Ph.D., professor of economics at Lycoming College, and ODE faculty advisor since 1987.

To be eligible for induction into the society, students must earn above-average grades in both economics and in their overall college work. Among those inducted were:

  • Evan Armstrong ’21 (Lewisburg, Pa.) – political science and economics major
  • Jensen H. Berman ’20 (Stroudsburg, Pa.) – economics major
  • Andrew D. Collins ’20 (Victor, N.Y.) – accounting major
  • Trevor Corl ’20 (Howard, Pa.) – business administration major, economics minor
  • Jiaoyang Fu ’21 (Zhengzhou, China) – corporate communications and economics major
  • Keely Laidacker ’20 (Turbotville, Pa.) – math and actuarial science major, accounting minor
  • Casey Lane ’21 (Taylor, Pa.) – economics major, political science and American studies minor
  • Bryan Pravisan Manoo ’20 (Curepipe, Mauritius) – political science and economics major
  • Rory Mendat ’21 (Grampian, Pa.) – economics and French major
  • Shane Rose ’21 (Glenside, Pa.) – accounting major
  • Cameron Terry ’21 ( Ephrata, Pa.) – accounting and economics major
  • Girishwaree (Sharvina) Ramphul ’21 (Grand Port, Mauritius) – accounting and economics major

Omicron Delta Epsilon, one of the world's largest academic honor societies, was created through the merger of two honor societies, Omicron Delta Gamma and Omicron Chi Epsilon. The society has over 560 chapters located in the United States, Canada, Australia, the United Kingdom, Mexico, Puerto Rico, South Africa, Egypt, and France. Two major objectives of the society are the recognition of scholastic attainment and the honoring of outstanding achievements in economics, and the establishment of closer ties between students and faculty in economics within colleges and universities.

Useful Resources