Aerial view of campus with Williamsport, the Susquehanna River and Bald Eagle Mountain as a backdrop

Lycoming College students and faculty earn regional awards at Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival

Lycoming College students and faculty earn regional awards at Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival

Download Image: Web

Nine students from the Lycoming College Theatre program participated in this year’s Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (KCACTF) at the Indiana University of Pennsylvania (IUP). The College sends a group of students to the festival each year to provide them with the opportunity to showcase their talents, compete with students from over 50 other universities and colleges, and attend workshops led by theatre professionals.

This year’s student attendees included: Sara Altieri ’21, Nick Auletti ’20, Gabriela Burch ’18, Danielle Headley ’18, Cody Losinger ’18, Taylor O’Brien ’19, A’feyah Smith ’20, Jennifer Spencer ’20, and Ahlyah Williams ’19. Also in attendance was recent graduate Victoria Ashmore ’17. 

The group of Lycoming students returned from the festival with three awards. Burch received the KCACTF Honorable Mention Award for Allied Design Excellence for Puppet Design, Smith received the KCACTF Design Technology and Management Legacy Award for Costume Design, and Ashmore received the KCACTF Regional Award for Theatrical Design for Costume Design.  

Jay Innerarity, department chair and assistant professor of theatre at Lycoming College, also received recognition at the festival, earning the Gold Medallion Award for his outstanding service to the organization during his term as a regional chair of Design, Technology, and Management. Gold Medallion Awards are given to individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the teaching and producing of theatre, and who have significantly dedicated their time, artistry and enthusiasm to the development of the KCACTF. It is the most prestigious regional award given by the KCACTF and is considered one of the great honors in theatre education.

The KCACTF is a national theatre program involving 20,000 students from colleges and universities nationwide annually, and a network of more than 700 academic institutions throughout the country. KCACTF encourages, recognizes, and celebrates the finest and most diverse work produced in university and college theatre programs.

Useful Resources