Aerial view of campus with Williamsport, the Susquehanna River and Bald Eagle Mountain as a backdrop

Lycoming Faculty receive teaching awards at Honors Convocation

Lycoming Faculty receive teaching awards at Honors Convocation

From left: President Kent C. Trachte, Ph.D.; Professor of English Darby Lewes, Ph.D.; Assistant Professor of Economics Michael Kurtz, Ph.D.; Provost Philip Sprunger, Ph.D.,

Download Image: Web

Lycoming College presented two faculty members with teaching awards at the College’s Honors Convocation on April 22.

The 2018 Plankenhorn Alumni Award for Faculty Excellence was bestowed upon Darby Lewes, Ph.D., professor of English. Lewes has published five books, as well as multiple journal articles, book chapters, encyclopedia entries and has won several major writing awards. She has served as a featured speaker at several conferences in the United States and Europe.

Michael Kurtz, Ph.D., assistant professor of economics, was awarded the 2018 Junior Faculty Teaching Award. Kurtz’s research focuses on how to measure teaching effectiveness, and how the measurements can be used to their full potential. His research intersects with health economics and understanding how weekend nutrition affects scholastic outcomes.

Lycoming College is proud of its talented and committed professors, who continue to add to the culture of student learning while advancing the College’s goal of offering a 21st-century liberal arts education.