Aerial view of campus with Williamsport, the Susquehanna River and Bald Eagle Mountain as a backdrop

Students recognized for leadership and service to Lycoming College and surrounding community

Lycoming College recognized a number of students for high academic achievements and service to student life during Honors Convocation this spring. The awards are reflective of the exceptional commitment students have to serve others and to uphold high personal standards.

The following students earned the Bishop D. Frederick Wertz for outstanding dedication and selfless service to others during their college career.
Wertz Award Winners
From left: Katherine J. Stepnowski, Allison E. de Haas, the Rev. Jeffrey LeCrone, Rachel K. Duncan and Richard Alexander Wheeler. Not pictured: Katherine Cleland.

The following students received the IRUSKA Honor Society Award for outstanding contribution to campus life in one or more student activities.
Iruska Award Winners
From left, back row: Dan Miller, vice president for student life, Kaitlyn S. Hipple, Sanna L. Fogt, Avery M. Baker, Andrew Canavan and Andrew T. Shelly.

Front: Emily E. Robinson, Melanie A. Gehringer, Elizabeth Ritter, Mary V. Radel and Jacob Quasius.

The J Marco Hunsberger Service to Lycoming Award was given to the following seniors for unselfish service and contribution to student life.
J Marco Hunsberger Award Winners
From left, back row: Richard A. Wheeler, Ryan J. Orgitano, Nicole A. Calella, Coral M. Chiaretti, Donald C. M. Keys and Dan Miller, vice president for student life.

Front: Rebecca D. Reed, Sophie M. Herzing, Katherine J. Stepnowski, Mary Katherine M. Yarish and Julie A. Burns.

The Student Senate presented Kaitlyn S. Hipple and Chantelle M. Lutz with a Rose Pfaff Scholarship For outstanding service to the College.

The Jack C. and Janet B. Buckle Scholarship was granted to juniors Avery M. Baker and Elizabeth Ritter for making an unusual contribution to campus life through leadership in student activities.

Individual awards were earned by the following students:

Katherine Jane Stepnowski received the Ethel McDonald Pax Christi Award for outstanding but quiet consistency in the life of faith and the practice of Christianity, noteworthy personal integrity, and humble loving compassion expressed in daily life. She also earned the Helen R. Hoover Community Service Prize for her personal commitment to serving less fortunate citizens in the community.

Rebecca D. Reed earned the Bishop William Perry Eveland Prize for progress in scholarship, loyalty, school spirit, and participation in school activities.

The Class of 1907 Prize was bestowed on Sophie M. Herzing for her contributions to campus life through participation in athletics and other student activities.

Ryan J. Orgitano won the Faculty Prize as senior commuting student who participated in student activities and who is in the upper half of the class.

Alpha Xi Delta earned the Torchbearer award for the group’s overall excellent academic performance.