Aerial view of campus with Williamsport, the Susquehanna River and Bald Eagle Mountain as a backdrop

Accolades awarded to students and staff for leadership and service to community

Accolades awarded to students and staff for leadership and service to community

Download Image: Web

Lycoming College students and staff were recognized at the College’s annual Honors Convocation, Sunday, April 21, at Williamsport’s Community Arts Center, for leadership through serving the Lycoming and Williamsport communities. Honorees were acknowledged for their selfless and tireless dedication to serving others and for their leadership to advance student life. Those honored include:

Bishop D. Frederick Wertz - Presented for outstanding dedication and selfless service to others during a student’s college career.

  • Amanda Burkey ’24
  • Jordan Golding ’24
  • DeQuan Galloway ’24
  • Grecia Leon ’24

The Helen R. Hoover Community Service Prize – Presented to a senior demonstrating a personal commitment to serving less fortunate citizens in either Greater Williamsport or their own community of permanent residence.

  • Isabella Taylor ’25

Ethel McDonald Pax Christi Award - Given for outstanding but quiet consistency in the life of faith and the practice of Christianity, noteworthy personal integrity, and humble loving compassion expressed in daily life.

  • DeQuan Galloway ’24

Torchbearer Award - Presented to the chapter of a fraternity or sorority with the highest G.P.A.

  • Alpha Xi Delta

IRUSKA Honor Society Award - Founded in 1954 as a means to honor students for their contributions and leadership at the College. Students chosen for induction have exhibited outstanding contributions to campus life.

  • Sarah Lanphear ’25
  • Aiden Brown ’25
  • Kaitlynn Mangrum ’25
  • Tristan Romero ’25
  • Sky Edwards ’25
  • Nidhi Sobrun ’25
  • Beatriz MacAreno Rodriguez ’25
  • Brian Hulsey ’25
  • Katryn Yocum ’25
  • Alijah Hunter ’25

The J Marco Hunsberger Service to Lycoming Award - Presented for unselfish service and contribution to student life by seniors during their college careers.

  • Rebekah Hromyak ’24
  • Hiyori Iai ’24
  • Mahala Johnson ’24
  • Melissa Van Klingeren ’24
  • Addison Angstadt ’24
  • Amanda Burkey ’24
  • Jordan Golding ’24
  • Haley Millard ’24
  • Nidhi Ramburuth ’24
  • Kaitlyn Sheriff ’24

(l-r) Dan Miller, Ed.D, VP student life; Chiu; Kent Trachte, Ph.D., president

Makisu Award - Presented to a staff member for outstanding service to the College community, for dedication above and beyond the realm of one’s obligations in relation to the College.

  • Patrick Chiu, Ph.D.

Bishop William Perry Eveland Prize - Awarded to a senior resident student, who is in the upper half of the class, for progress in scholarship, loyalty, school spirit, and participation in school activities.

  • Kaitlyn Haefner ’24

Class of 1907 Prize - Presented to a senior who is in the upper half of the class, and who has contributed to campus life through participation in athletics and other student activities.

  • Melissa Van Klingeren ’24

Faculty Prize - Given to a senior commuting student who participated in student activities and who is in the upper half of the class.

  • Elizabeth Shaffer ’24

(l-r) Cathy Andrews, Stafford, Sydney Andrews

Dr. Meghan C. Andrews Research and Professional Enrichment Award – Presented in support of faculty research and professional enrichment and given in honor of Dr. Andrews’ legacy as a Shakespearian scholar, educator, and beloved member of the Lycoming community.

  • Andrew Stafford, Ph.D.