Sustainability Committee

The Sustainability Committee consists of administrators, faculty and students and serves in an advisory capacity in relation to sustainability initiatives on campus. The committee hopes to encourage a collaborative and supportive environment for faculty, staff and students interested in promoting environmental sustainability at the college, to develop, promote and recommend implementation of environmental sustainability initiatives and activities and to serve as a resource for faculty, staff and students on all matters pertaining to environmental sustainability.

The mission of this Committee is:

Lycoming College embraces the goals of sustainability for all of its stakeholder members and as an institution. We support the identification of sustainable practices for the sake of a sustainable community and world in a way that efficiently uses college resources.

Developments and Initiatives Implemented by the Sustainability Committee (2014-2015)

Members of the Sustainability Committee


  • Julian Jones,  Team Coordinator, Food Recovery Network Project Manager
  • Johanna Hripto, Team Coordinator, TerraCycle Project Manager
  • Jennifer Carmody, Food Recovery Network Project Coordinator 
  • Julie Burns, Co-Coordinator 
  • Abbi O'Connor, Co-Coordinator


  • Dr. Mel Zimmerman, co-chair, Professor of Biology, Director of the Clean Water Institute 
  • Dr. Ryan Adams, co-chair, Assistant Professor of Sociology/Anthropology
  • Lynn Estomin, Professor of Art

Administrative Representatives

  • Steve Caravaggio, Dir. Acad. Comp. & User Support (IT Department) 
  • John Shaffer, Grounds & General Labor Supervisor
  • Debbie Smith, Administrative Assistant for the Heim Building
  • Dr. Phil Sprunger, Provost and Dean of College
  • Leslie Ekstrand, General Manager (Dining Services)

Contact Information