Annual Alumni Association Awards

Alumni Association Awards Group Photo

Nominate someone for an AAEB award

Lycoming College graduates have succeeded in many ways — personally, professionally and in support of the college. To recognize outstanding members of the Lycoming College community, the following awards are presented annually at Homecoming:

Angela R. Kyte Outstanding Alumnus Award

Given in honor of an alumnus/a who has demonstrated a lifetime of service to humanity and whose life exemplifies those qualities encouraged and fostered at Lycoming College and by its predecessor institutions.

Dr. James E. Douthat Outstanding Achievement Award

Given in recognition of an alumnus/a who has achieved a significant accomplishment that reflects positively on Lycoming College and/or its predecessor institutions. This could be in a professional field or another area of accomplishment.

Dale V. Bower Service Award

Given to an individual for outstanding service rendered to Lycoming College. The recipient may or may not be a Lycoming alumnus/a.

Taunia Oechslin Young Alumni Award

Given to a graduate of Lycoming College who has made significant contributions to his/her profession, demonstrates leadership and accomplishment in his/her career, exemplifies outstanding service and volunteerism to the college or the community during the first 15 years since graduating from Lycoming College, and whose ongoing work reflects positively on the college.

Award Recipients

2016 Award Winners

Angela R. Kyte Outstanding Alumnus Award
Dr. Joy (Lemons) Brittain '79

Dr. James E. Douthat Outstanding Achievement Award
Dick Yuengling, Jr. '66

Dale V. Bower Service Award
Dr. Edward G. Gabriel

Taunia Oechslin Young Alumnus Award
James C. DeMarco '01

2015 Award Winners

Angela R. Kyte Outstanding Alumnus Award
James "Jim" G. Gkach '78

Dr. James E. Douthat Outstanding Achievement Award
David A. Oot '66

Dale V. Bower Service Award
Dr. Patrick J. Carey

Taunia Oechslin Young Alumnus Award
Adam P. Makos '03

Alumni Award Recipients

Award Namesake Descriptions

Angela (Viera) Kyte, ’73

After graduating in 1973, Angela remained active in the Lycoming College campus community by serving on the Board of Trustees and on the Alumni Association Executive Board. She was a committed advocate for education, and demonstrated her support by endowing the Kyte Family Scholarship to help New Jersey students attend Lycoming College. While September 11, 2001 marked Angela’s passing in the World Trade Center tragedies, Angela will always be remembered for her passionate, caring, and loving personality.

Taunia (Halcrow) Oechslin ’92

Taunia dedicated her life to helping others. Along with serving on the Lycoming College Alumni Association Executive Board, she worked with the American Red Cross and volunteered for numerous nonprofit groups. Through her personal fight against breast cancer, Taunia became an advocate for women everywhere. She coordinated fundraising events and was featured in public service ads for the Joyce Murtha Breast Care Center. Although Taunia eventually lost her battle with cancer, she will always be remembered for her charitable efforts and loving heart.

Dr. James E. Douthat, President Emeritus

Dr. James E. Douthat served Lycoming College as the third-longest tenured president in the history of the college until his retirement in June 2013. Among many institutional achievements, Dr. Douthat’s legacy of extensive enhancements to the college included a remarkable leap in the endowment, expansion of academic programs, and improvements to Lycoming’s physical campus. Under his direction, Lycoming began its consistent ranking as a Tier 1 institution by U.S. News & World Report. Dr. Douthat will be remembered for his 24 years of leadership in both the Lycoming College and Williamsport communities.

Dale V. Bower ’59

Dale served as Lycoming’s first director of planned giving (1949-1964) and its first full-time alumni relations director (1964-1979) before retiring in 1979. During his career, many referred to the Bowers’ home as an annex of Lycoming College because of the numerous alumni events and out-of-town alumni and friends Dale and his wife hosted, especially on Homecoming weekends. The 1974 and 1986 Arrow yearbooks were both dedicated to Dale. Upon his retirement in 1979, Lycoming awarded him an honorary doctor of laws degree for his 30 years of dedicated service to the college. Dale was also the first recipient of the alumni award named in his honor in 1979.