Aerial view of campus with Williamsport, the Susquehanna River and Bald Eagle Mountain as a backdrop

Students recognized for academic achievements and service at Lycoming College

High academic achievements and service to student life are among a number of attributes recognized during award ceremonies this spring at Lycoming College.

The following students were recognized as Lycoming Scholars for participating in semester-long, interdisciplinary seminars and completing independent study projects during their senior year, and for taking more upper-level courses than required: Jeremy Matthew Chobot, a senior physics and mathematics major from Quakertown, Pa.; Kayla Darling, a senior creative writing major from Rome, Pa.; Tiffany N. Faull, a senior biology major from McEwensville, Pa.; Kirsten L. Fischer, a senior biology major from Nazareth, Pa.; Erin McKenzie Hale, a biology major from Oakfield, N.Y.; Shannon Bryn Lafferty, a senior business finance and international studies from Langhorne, Pa.; Patrick Ryan McGinley, a senior archaeology and religion major from Coatesville, Pa.; Jennifer Lynne Monico, a senior biology major from Harleysville, Pa.; Hoang H. Nguyen, a psychology and economics major from Hanoi, Vietnam; Samantha Therese Raup, a French major from Danville, Pa.; Patricia N. Reid, a senior archaeology and French major from Oxnard, Calif.; Bethany Elise Richardson, a senior corporate communications and business marketing major from York, Pa.; Rachel Ashley Salmon, a senior archaeology and german major from Lock Haven, Pa.; Erin Rae Szogi, a creative writing and psychology major from Fallsington, Pa.; and Michael A. Tusay III, an archaeology and history major from North Huntingdon, Pa.

The following seniors were awarded a J Marco Hunsberger Service to Lycoming Award for unselfish service and contribution to student life during their college career: Darling; Tusay; Oluwatosin Oluwanifemi Fayinminu, a senior sociology major from Ondo, Nigeria; Zachary A. Kibler, a mathematics and education major from East Greenville, Pa.; Jennifer Lee Reilly, an archaeology major from Chatham, N.J.; Lauren Elizabeth DelGaizo, a creative writing and political science major from Rochester, N.Y.; Margaret H. Hervey, a business administration and psychology major from Commack, N.Y.; and Brooke Jean Adamski, an accounting, finance and Spanish major from Catawissa, Pa.

A number of these students earned additional awards.

Tusay earned the Bishop William Perry Eveland Prize for being in the upper half of his class and for progress in scholarship, loyalty, school spirit, and participation in school activities. He also earned the Richard L. Mix '51 and Miriam S. Mix Research and Writing Prize for the most outstanding paper in historical methods.

Adamski also earned the Pennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants Award for having a high scholastic standing, a strong work ethic, and qualities of leadership.

Chobot earned the Frances K. Skeath Award in Mathematics for his outstanding achievement in mathematics and the Q.E.D. award for outstanding service for the past four years to the department of astronomy and physics.

Fayinminu earned the Durkheim Prize in Sociology for her outstanding achievements in sociology.

McGinley earned two faculty awards for outstanding academic achievement and achieving the highest departmental grade point average: one in religion and one in archaeology.

Szogi earned three additional awards: J. Milton Skeath Award in Psychology for superior undergraduate achievement and potential for future work in psychology, the President's Prize in Prose, and the John P. Graham Prize for the highest average in English classes.

Monico earned the John A. Streeter Memorial Award as the College Band member who has outstanding musical ability and who has made significant leadership contributions to the band.

Salmon earned the Phil G. Gillette Prize in Modern Foreign Languages Awarded for excelling in the study of German.

Reilly earned the Sorority Woman of the Year and Kibler earned the Fraternity Man of the Year.

Reid earned the Robert Ewing Senior Prize in History for the highest grade point average in history. She also earned the Edward J. Gray Prize for having the second highest average in the senior class.

DelGaizo earned the Charles J. Kocian Award for the highest grade point average for a graduating political science major.