Aerial view of campus with Williamsport, the Susquehanna River and Bald Eagle Mountain as a backdrop

Faculty and staff recognized for dedication to Lycoming College

Faculty and staff recognized for dedication to Lycoming College

President Kent Trachte, Michael Smith, Richard Hughes, Provost Philip Sprunger

Download Image: Web

Lycoming College professors and staff received awards for teaching excellence and dedication to students during award ceremonies this spring.

Richard Hughes, Ph.D., M. B. Rich professor of religion and pre-ministry, earned the 2016 Constance Cupp Plankenhorn Alumni Award for Faculty Excellence. Hughes has taught courses in theology, ethics, comparative religions, and existential studies. He has published books and essays in the fields of theology, biblical studies, depth psychology, ethics, and law. An ordained United Methodist minister, Hughes has served churches in Massachusetts, Georgia, New Mexico, and Indiana; and he has worked in prison ministry and hospital chaplaincy. He is a member of Children's Healthcare is a Legal Duty, Inc., an organization devoted to the equal rights of children under the law. He holds a B.A., from the University of Indianapolis, an S.T.B., from the Boston University School of Theology and a Ph.D., from Boston University.

Michael Smith, Ph.D., assistant professor of mathematical science, earned the 2016 Junior Faculty Teaching Award. Smith teaches various mathematics courses including combinatorics, matrix algebra and abstract algebra. As a mathematics education expert, he uses innovative and fun activities that help students learn and retain key concepts. Many of his teaching techniques emphasize kinesthetic activities including contra dancing to canoeing and card games in order to make math real for students. He has published two articles on teaching college level mathematics. He earned his B.A. from Connecticut College in 2003 and his Ph.D. from the University of Virginia in 2006.

Andrew Corll, Café 1812 Evening Supervisor, received the Makisu Award, which the student body presents to a faculty or staff member for extraordinary service and dedication.

Lisa Mendler, assistant to the provost and advisor for Gamma Delta Sigma, earned the Fraternity/Sorority Advisor of the Year. Lawrence Mannolini, director of student programs and advisor for a number of student organizations, earned the Student Organization Advisor of the Year.