Faculty and staff recognized at Honors Convocation

Faculty and staff recognized at Honors Convocation

Download Image: Web

Three Lycoming College faculty and staff members were honored with teaching and service awards at the College's Honors Convocation on April 17. The awards are given on the basis of dedication and service to the College.

Dr. Michelle A. Briggs is the recipient of the 2011 Constance Cupp Plankenhorn Alumni Award for Faculty Excellence. An assistant professor of biology, Briggs joined the Lycoming faculty in 1992 as the departmental botanist. Specializing in medicinal and poisonous plants, she teaches plant science for biology majors in addition to working with freshman majors and non-majors. Since 2002, Briggs has served as the director of the Lycoming College Scholars program, with which she has been involved since 1994.

Dr. Elizabeth A. Moorhouse has been awarded the 2011 Junior Faculty Teaching Award for excellence in teaching. As an assistant professor of economics, she teaches courses on the labor economics and U.S. economic history, as well as theory courses in the discipline. Moorhouse is one of the first Ph.D. students in the U.S. to earn a degree in the field of feminist economics. Her research interests include women in higher education, U.S. economic history and political economy. Her current research examines the influence of the federal government's financial support of research in the sciences and its impact on men and women seeking employment in these fields.

Gary Samuels received the Makisu Award, which the student body presents to a faculty or staff member for extraordinary service and dedication. Samuels, a 2005 Lycoming graduate, joined the College's residential life staff in 2009 as a student life coordinator, having worked in the security department since 2006. As coordinator of the FYRST (First Year Residents Succeeding Together) program, Samuels works with freshmen to provide a living/learning environment that will help residents grow as individuals and as students. He earned a master's from Drexel University in higher education student development and affairs.

Others recognized at Honors Convocation:

Chieftain Award presented to Spencer
Flick and Kleinfelter named Most Outstanding Athletes

Lycoming College is a national liberal arts and sciences school dedicated to the undergraduate education of 1,400 students. It is recognized as a Tier 1 institution by U.S. News and World Report. Founded in 1812 in Williamsport, Pa., Lycoming is one of the 50 oldest colleges in the nation.

  • Faculty Awards 2011

    Faculty Awards 2011

  • Gary Samuels

    Gary Samuels