Aerial view of campus with Williamsport, the Susquehanna River and Bald Eagle Mountain as a backdrop

Department Awards

The Department of Criminal Justice awards two prized to graduating seniors each year at the College’s Honors Convocation held in April.

The Hoover Memorial Prize

The Department of Criminal Justice was selected to receive one of the J. Edgar Hoover Memorial Scholarships sponsored by the Society of Former Special Agents of the FBI, Inc. The award was presented to the Department on behalf of former Special Agent Melvin F. Fleming (1971-1995) in support of the Foundation’s mission of the advancement of science, education, and cultural arts.

The Hoover Memorial Prize is given annually to a graduating senior who has demonstrated excellence in research and scholarship while pursuing a major or minor in Criminal Justice. Recipients of this award include:

  • Brendan Nally
  • Nicholas A. Zeigler
  • Amanda L. Lenhart
  • Teresa M. Gantz
  • Kristofer A. Hess, Kathryn S. Stoufer (co-recipients)

The Criminal Justice Society Prize

The Criminal Justice Society Prize is awarded to a graduating Criminal Justice or Criminology major who has demonstrated outstanding classroom performance, a promise of leadership, and service to the college and community. Recipients of this award include:

  • Holly O'Hara
  • Aaron F. Lay
  • Benjamin H. Tiedgen
  • MaryRose Higginbotham
  • Karlie A. Hall
  • Stephanie D. Wanek
  • Kristopher Accardi, Kyleen E. Luy (co-recipients)
  • Heather I. Brown
  • Mary-Margaret Kriner, Janelle M. Smith (co-recipients)
  • Garret M. Boop, Joshua J. Gridley (co-recipients)
  • Laura E. Lebo
  • Daniel E. Brewer, Michael H. Zavagansky (co-recipients)