Heather Demshock
Amanda Horn Gunderson
Jay Innerarity
Tiffany Towns
Sabri Yilmaz
Jordan Krebs ’13
Accolades continue
This past fall, Lycoming College
was once again recognized as one of
the nation’s top institutions for higher
U.S. News & World Report
included Lycoming in its 2013 edition
of “America’s Best Colleges.” The
report also ranks Lycoming 20th in the
nation among liberal arts and sciences
institutions in graduation rate when
comparing actual graduation rate with
the predicted rate. Most of Lycoming’s
students graduate in four years, and
data from the U.S. Department of
Education confirms the College’s six-
year graduation rate of 70 percent to
be very strong when compared to other
schools. Nationally, the average six-
year graduation rate for all colleges and
universities is 55 percent.
Forbes.com ranks Lycoming among
“America’s Best Colleges”. The ranking
includes the top 20 percent of the nation’s
undergraduate colleges. The Princeton
Review has recognized the College as
one of the best institutions of higher
learning in the Northeast.
Five join the faculty ranks
Dr. Phil Sprunger, provost and dean of the College, announced the arrival of five
new faculty members.
Heather Demshock is an assistant professor of accounting. Prior to Lycoming,
she was a senior associate at the Certified Public Accounting firm Dixon Hughes
Goodman LLP in Norfolk, Va. Her primary
focus there was auditing companies in the real
estate, not-for-profit, leisure and employee
benefit plan industries. In addition, she
performed tax planning and preparation for
individual and partnership tax returns. She
is a Certified Public Accountant and earned
a bachelor’s degree in accounting from
Old Dominion University and a master’s in
accounting from Liberty University.
Amanda Horn Gunderson is a
visiting assistant professor of music. Her
specialization is in piano performance and
pedagogy, and she has an expertise in issues
associated with small-handed pianists. She
earned both bachelor’s and master’s of music
degrees from Penn State University, and
recently completed a doctorate of musical arts
program at the University of Wisconsin.
Jay Innerarity is a visiting assistant
professor of theatre. He is interested in
collaboration and sculptural aspects of
theatre design. He previously taught theatre
at the University of Memphis and before
that, taught as both a UH-60 Blackhawk
NRC flight instructor and a standardization
instructor for the United States Army. He is
a graduate of the 101st Airborne Division,
Noncommissioned Officer Academy, earned
a Bachelor of Fine Arts in scenic design
and fine arts from Stephen F. Austin State
University and a Master of Fine Arts in scene
design and technical production from the
University of Memphis.
Tiffany Towns is a visiting assistant
professor of theatre. Her interests include
costume design, children’s theatre and
puppetry. She joins Lycoming from the
University of Alabama, where she earned
a Master of Fine Arts in costume design
and technology. She also has a bachelor’s
of theatre from Brenau University and an
associate’s degree in theatre from Gainesville
State College.
Sabri Yilmaz is a visiting instructor of
economics. His research interest is trade
networks under asymmetric information
and their applications to various markets. He
earned a Ph.D. in economics from Southern
Illinois University and master’s degrees in
both economics and mathematics from the
University of Missouri-Columbia, as well as
a bachelor’s of mathematics from Marmara
University in Istanbul, Turkey.
Krebs receives national
microbiology award
Jordan Krebs ’13 was a 2012 award
recipient of the American Society for
Microbiology’s (ASM) Undergraduate
Research Capstone Program. A
biology and chemistry double major
from Roaring Spring, Pa., he was one
of only seven students to receive the
award, and was the only student from a
baccalaureate college selected. Awardees
receive up to $1,500.
Krebs’ research project was titled
“Assessment of Bacillus horneckiae
Spore Survival under Simulated Space
ISS Conditions.” His mentor was Dr.
Kasthuri Venkateswaran of the Jet
Propulsion Laboratory.
I,II,1,2 4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,...42