Page 23 - 2012 Lycoming Summer Magazine

and added nine more titles after that. His
team finished third at the NAIA
national tournament. He coached 38 All-
Americans, 66 conference champions
and four national champions. His overall
career record was 376-172-6 (.683).
He was the founding father of
wrestling at Lycoming, and he is still
being recognized for it 20 years after
he passed,” said Roger Crebs ’87,
Lycoming’s wrestling coach. “I think
that’s awesome. Budd had a huge impact
in my life. I continue to instill those
values that he taught me.”
Hinton named Arthur Ashe Jr.
Sports Scholar
Warrior wrestler Stephen Hinton
’12 (
Montclair, Va./Forest Park) capped
his spectacular senior season by being
named an Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar
by Diverse
Issues in Higher
Education in its
May 24 issue.
Diverse Issues
established the
scholars program,
named for the
late tennis star,
in 1992 to honor
students of color. Each sports scholar
must be a non-freshman who competes
in an intercollegiate sport, maintains
a cumulative grade-point average of at
least 3.20 and is active on his campus or
in the community. Hinton is one of 573
student-athletes in the nation to earn the
award this year.
A three-time ECWC All-Academic
Team member and a two-time NWCA
Scholar All-American, Hinton finished
his senior year with a 19-4 overall
record, three pins and five major
decisions. He went 12-1 in dual meets
and won the ECWC title at 125 pounds
en route to taking the ECWC Most
Outstanding Wrestler award.
The criminal justice major finished
with a 49-37 career mark at Lycoming.
Besides his work on the mat, Hinton
helped organize the wrestling team’s
booth at the College’s Relay for Life and
participated in the event three times.
He also coached and provided wrestling
instruction for the Rats Wrestling Club
and participated in local flood cleanup
efforts with the wrestling team in
Marascio and Strausser named
Athletes of the Year
Football player Anthony Marascio
and women’s lacrosse player Brooke
Strausser ’13 were named Lycoming’s
Male and Female Outstanding Athletes,
respectively, at the College’s Honors
Convocation. Cross country runner
Michelle Herman ’13 earned the Sol
Woody” Wolf Award.
Marascio is the 19th football player
to earn the award. The Philadelphia,
Pa., native became the first Lycoming
player to earn the MAC Defensive Player
of the Year award in 2011, as he led the
league in tackles for loss with 20, posted
sacks and finished the season with
a team-high 59 tackles. In addition to
earning the team’s MVP and defensive
lineman of the year award, he was named
to the AFCA All-American squad, the All-American Second
Team, the Associated Press Little All-
America Third Team and the D3ProDay.
com All-American First Team.
Strausser, a midfielder, has developed
into one of the most talented players in
the league, earning all-conference honors
in each of her first three years. She turned
into the Warriors’ top offensive producer
in 2012, as she scored a career-high 52
goals and led the team with 55 points. She
also led the team with 46 groundballs, 63
draw controls and 24 caused turnovers.
The co-captain started the season with six
straight hat tricks. Her 52 goals are the
eighth-most in school history.
Herman earned the Sol “Woody” Wolf
Award, given to
a junior who has
shown the most
improvement in
the intercollegiate
in his/her first
three years at
the College. A
two-time MAC
Academic Honor
Roll selection,
Herman immediately made an impact on
the Warriors, running a school-record
during the NCAA Mideast
Regionals as a freshman. She became the
first cross country runner to earn All-MAC
honors since 1995 when she placed 18th at
the conference championships Oct. 29.
Warriors to sport new look
Since the late 1940s, Lycoming College
has been represented by just two athletic
logos: a profile of a Native American
warrior and a block-letter L. That will
all change this fall when a new logo is
Phoenix Design Works has been con-
tracted to lead the development of the new
imagery, which must receive approval by
the College’s board of trustees. To help
guide its design efforts, the firm is using
feedback from students, faculty, staff and
alumni, who were surveyed by the Col-
lege’s logo/mascot review committee. The
nickname “Warriors” and the school colors
of blue and gold will remain intact.
In 2005, the board voted to retire the
warrior logo, largely in response to the
National Collegiate Athletic Association’s
restrictions of the use of Native American
mascots and logos. Since that time, Warrior
athletics has been represented by a block-
letter L.
Members of the committee include
Mike Clark ’93, director of athletics and
head football coach; Sarah Cox ’13, execu-
tive vice president of student senate; W.
Clark Gaughan ’77, president, Alumni
Associate Executive Board; Dr. Sue Gay-
lor, vice president for administration and
planning; Angelika Maryniak ’12, student
representative; Dan Miller, dean of student
affairs; Sarah Quigley ’14, Student-Athlete
Advisory Committee and women’s lacrosse
player; Jerry Rashid, director of college
relations; John Sibel ’15, Student-Athlete
Advisory Committee and football player;
Gary Spies ’72, alumni representative; and
Dr. John Whelan, professor of philosophy
and faculty athletic representative.
Anthony Marascio ’12
Brooke Strausser ’13
Michelle Herman ’13
Stephen Hinton ’12