Page II - 2012 Lycoming Summer Magazine

The mission of Lycoming
College is to provide a
distinguished baccalaureate
education in the liberal
arts and sciences within a
coeducational, supportive,
residential setting.
Mission Statement
Dr. James E. Douthat
Chip Edmonds ’98
Vice President for College Advancement
Dr. Sue S. Gaylor
Vice President for Administration
and Planning
Dr. Daniel P. Miller
Dean of Student Affairs
James D. Spencer
Vice President of Admissions
and Financial Aid
Dr. Philip W. Sprunger
Provost and Dean of the College
Administrative Cabinet
Board of Trustees
Peter R. Lynn ’69
Stanley W. Sloter ’80
Vice Chair)
Dale N. Krapf ’67
Dr. William E. Evans ’72
Assistant Secretary)
Ann S. Pepperman, Esquire
Assistant Secretary)
Lawrence S. Allison Jr. ’96
Dr. Brenda P. Alston-Mills ’66
David R. Bahl, Esquire
Dr. Robert L. Bender ’59
John R. Biggar ’66
Melvin H. Campbell Jr. ’70
Jay W. Cleveland Sr.
Jay W. Cleveland Jr. ’88
Dr. James E. Douthat
Donald E. Failor ’68
D. Mark Fultz ’80
David D. Gathman ’69
Daniel R. Hawbaker
Daniel R. Langdon ’73
Dr. Robert G. Little ’63
Carolyn-Kay M. Lundy ’63
Nanci D. Morris ’78
David L. Schoch ’73
James G. Scott ’70
Hugh H. Sides ’60
Cheryl D. Spencer ’70
Linda Porr Sweeney ’78
John S. Trogner Jr. ’68
Marshall D. Welch III
Rev. Dr. Thomas V. Wolfe ’78
Diane Dalto Woosnam ’73
Dr. Dennis G. Youshaw ’61
Emeritus Members
Hon. Marie White Bell ’58
David Y. Brouse ’47
Richard W. DeWald ’61
Dr. Daniel G. Fultz ’57 ’01H
Nancy J. Gieniec ’59
Dr. Arthur A. Haberberger ’59 ’11H
Emeritus Chair)
Harold D. Hershberger Jr. ’51
Bishop Neil L. Irons ’12H
Rev. Dr. Kenrick R. Khan ’57
David B. Lee ’61
D. Stephen Martz ’64
Dr. Robert L. Shangraw ’58 ’04H
Emeritus Chair)
Dr. Harold H. Shreckengast Jr. ’50 ’00H
Emeritus Chair)
Hon. Clinton W. Smith ’55
Charles D. Springman ’59
Phyllis L. Yasui
The Lycoming College Board of Trustees has launched the
search for the College’s 15th president. To assist with the pro-
cess, two committees have been formed and a search firm has
been hired. The preliminary timeline has the search concluding
by November. Dr. James E. Douthat, who assumed the presiden-
cy in 1989, has announced plans to retire in June 2013.
Jim Douthat has been an exceptional leader during his 23
years of service as president, repositioning the College for tre-
mendous opportunities in her third century,” said Peter Lynn ’69,
board chair and chair of the trustee selection committee. “On be-
half of the trustees, I express our gratitude for Dr. Douthat’s deep
commitment to strengthening Lycoming’s academic programs,
to promoting the College’s reputation as a national liberal arts
and sciences college, and to building a firm financial foundation
to support the Lycoming student experience for generations to
The College’s faculty and staff had an opportunity to share
their views about Lycoming’s future needs and priorities during
open campus forums hosted by presidential search consultant
Dr. Tom Courtice of AGB Search during the spring semester.
According to Marshall D. Welch III, a trustee and chair of the
presidential search committee, the candidate pool will be gener-
ated throughout the summer via nominations received from con-
tacts with national education and foundation officials, inquiries
at other colleges and universities, letters to friends and alumni of
Lycoming, national advertising and the work of the search firm.
Lycoming alumni and friends who know of people who could
serve effectively as the College’s next president are urged to send
suggestions to Courtice at
The search committee is well aware that the success of
our search depends on the involvement of all members of the
Lycoming community,” Welch said.
Joining Lynn and Welch on the trustee selection committee
are Stanley Sloter ’80, vice chair; D. Mark Fultz ’80; James Scott
Cheryl Spencer ’70; and alternates Dale Krapf ’67 and Dr.
Thomas Wolfe ’78.
The 16-person presidential search committee includes Welch,
Fultz, Wolfe and trustees Charles Springman ’59, vice chair; the
Hon. Marie White Bell ’58; Dr. Robert Bender ’59; Carolyn-
Kay Lundy ’63; Nanci Morris ’78; and Dr. Robert Shangraw ’59
H. From the faculty are Dr. Amy Cartal-Falk, assistant
professor of French; Dr. Cullen Chandler, associate professor of
history; and Dr. Chriss McDonald, professor of chemistry. David
Heffner, associate dean and chief information officer, and S.
William Hessert ’85, are representing the administration and the
Alumni Association Executive Board, respectively. The student
body is represented by Greg Vartan ’15 and Natalie Johnson ’13.
The search committee will make its recommendations of the
candidates of choice to the selection committee after on-campus
interviews. The selection committee will then make a final decision
on behalf of the board regarding Lycoming’s next president.
To read the position profile and obtain important information
and updates about the presidential search, please visit
In search of Lycoming College’s 15th president