Alpha Kappa Delta International Sociology Honor Society

Addie Weaver

Alumnae Addie Weaver returns to deliver an address at the annual induction dinner. Ms. Weaver received an MSW from Marywood University and is currently pursuing her Ph.D. at the University of Pittsburgh.

The Department of Sociology-Anthropology is a chapter member of the International Sociology Honor Society, Alpha Kappa Delta. Each year academically-qualified students are invited to join Alpha Kappa Delta. The mission of Alpha Kappa Delta is to "AKD seeks to acknowledge and promote excellence in scholarship in the study of sociology, the research of social problems, and such other social and intellectual activities as will lead to improvement in the human condition."

Membership Eligibility: Undergraduate students must be an officially declared sociology-anthropology major or demonstrate a serious interest in sociology through pursuit of a minor. Students must be at least a junior (third year) and must have accumulated the equivalent of an overall grade point average of 3.0 on a four point scale and rank in the top 35% of their class in general scholarship. Applicants must also maintained the equivalent of a 3.0 grade point average in sociology courses taken prior to initiation as well as have completed at least four regular courses in sociology prior to initiation.


Pictured are the departmental inductees during the annual induction dinner and ceremony. For more information about our local chapter, please contact Dr. Susan Ross.

2015-inductees2015 Inductees (left to right): Oluwatosin Fayinminu, Amber Seibel, Katie Lord

2010 Inductees

Inductees: Kelsey Barrett, Michelle Pastrano, and Katie Walker

2009 Inductees

Inductees: Jennifer Hoffman, Mikaela Giarratana, Pamela Burke, Alissa Miller, and Kyle Hickman (Not pictured: Jesse Wodrig)

2008 Inductees

Inductees: Rebecca Trostle, Katie Hyde, Abbey Whittaker, AmyLynn Mirocco, Jessica Guzzardo, Tiffany Zappulla, Kaitlin Deptula, Tim Miller, and Jessica Chance (Not pictured: Amilcar Guzman, Jenelle Lyon, Tara Robuck, and Michael Shulski)

Other Past Inductees

  • Lindsay Bonner
  • Jessica Chance
  • Kristin Confer
  • Oluwatosin O. Fayinminu
  • Louis Franklin
  • Ellen Furman
  • Amy Gatehouse
  • Brian Johnson
  • Celeste Purosky
  • Aloys Rode
  • Kathryn Stoufer
  • Jessica Vanderbilt
  • Tiffany Zappulla
  • Tamah Amrom
  • Jessica Hanics
  • Sara Brown
  • Melissa Bomboy
  • Amber Day
  • Lindsay Douty
  • Blair Failla
  • Kathleen Holmes
  • Katie M. Lord
  • Elizabeth Miller
  • Heather Nelson
  • Vanessa Postaski
  • Amber C. Seibel
  • Derek Whitman
  • Lee Zelewicz
  • Jessica Ames
  • Kimberly Hays
  • Jennifer Hochman
  • Kimberly Persun
  • Addie Weaver