Visiting scholar of Arabic and Islamic studies to speak Jan. 27

    Lycoming College will host Dr. Mordechai Kedar, a visiting scholar of Arabic and Islamic studies from Bar-Ilan University in Israel, for two public lectures on Thursday, Jan. 27. His visit is sponsored by the College, Ohev Sholom Synagogue and the Williamsport Federation of Jewish Charities.

    Read more

    Alumnus elected to U.S. House of Representatives

    Lycoming College alumnus and Republican Tom Marino has been elected to the U.S. House of Representatives from the Pennsylvania 10th Congressional District. Marino joins 12 other Lycoming alumni who have served in Congress.

    Read more

    Lycoming's Center for the Study of the Community and the Economy announces poll results

    Lycoming College announces the results of two polls conducted by the College's Center for the Study of Community and the Economy.   

    Carney and Marino in close race, new Lycoming College poll finds

    Read more

    President Obama nominates alumnus for key administrative post

    Lycoming College alumnus Gene Dodaro was nominated by President Barack Obama to be comptroller general of the United States, Government Accountability Office. His nomination, announced by the White House on Sept. 22, must be confirmed by the Senate.

    Dodaro, who earned a bachelor's degree in accounting from Lycoming in 1973, has served as acting comptroller general of the United States and head of the Government Accountability Office (GAO) since March 2008. Dodaro previously served as GAO's chief operating officer, and, before that, as assistant comptroller general for GAO's largest unit, the Accounting and Information Management Division. A 37-year veteran of GAO who rose through the agency ranks, Dodaro is a fellow of the National Academy of Public Administration, a member of the Association of Government Accountants, and has received recognition from numerous organizations including the National Public Service Award, the Roger W. Jones Award for Executive Leadership and the Arthur S. Fleming Award for Outstanding Individual Performance in the Federal Government.

    Read more