Lycoming College recognizes student achievements at Leadership and Service Awards Banquet

Lycoming College recognizes student achievements at Leadership and Service Awards Banquet

Download Image: Web

Lycoming College recognized co-curricular student achievements on campus during its sixth annual Leadership & Service Awards Banquet on April 11 in the Recreation Center.

The greeting was given by 1976 Lycoming alumna Andrea D. Seuren, who established the event's Seuren Leadership Speaker Series in 2007 in memory of her parents. The series' purpose is to build a culture of leadership at the College that espouses service, ethics and critical thinking.

This year's Seuren Leadership Speaker was Carol (Marsland) Schoch, who earned a bachelor's degree in music from Lycoming in 1973. She is the founder and director of the Detroit Children's Choir, established in 2006. In the mid-1990s, she founded and directed the International Choir of São Paulo in Brazil, where she also established a choral program for children and teens. A native of the Philadelphia area, Schoch earned a master of music degree in choral conducting and vocal pedagogy from Oakland University. Early in her teaching career, her husband, David, also a 1973 Lycoming graduate, began his career with the Ford Motor Company, which took them to Ohio, Michigan, England, Brazil and South Africa. David is now chairman and CEO of Ford Motor China. The couple has three daughters.

The award winners are as follows:

Male Intramural Sports Athlete of the Year: John Roland

Female Intramural Sports Athlete of the Year: Katie Baldwin

Interfraternity Council Spirit Award: Myles Biggs of Lambda Chi Alpha

Interfraternity Council Service Award: John Hardy of Lambda Chi Alpha

Interfraternity Council Scholar of the Year: Daniel Angstadt of Phi Kappa Psi

Panhellenic Council Spirit Award: Tehrim Umar of Gamma Delta Sigma

Panhellenic Council Service Award: Natalie Johnson of Alpha Xi Delta

Panhellenic Council Scholar Award: Allyson Blizman of Alpha Sigma Tau

Interfraternity Council Man of the Year: Myles Biggs of Lambda Chi Alpha

Panhellenic Council Woman of the Year: Jennifer Gillin of Alpha Xi Delta

Fraternity/Sorority Advisor of the Year: Janice Ogurcak, professor of communications and advisor for Alpha Xi Delta

Chapter of the Year: Lambda Chi Alpha

Outstanding Program of the Year: Multicultural Awareness Group – International Dinner

Student Organization Advisor of the Year: Dawn Burch, secretary for Health Services and advisor for Campus Girl Scouts

Student Organization of the Year: Panhellenic Council

Outstanding Student Leader: Stephanie Robinson

Outstanding Community Service Program Award: Gamma Delta Sigma – Ellie's Pancake Benefit

Outstanding Community Service Fundraising Event Award: Alpha Psi Omega – Jerry Allen Memorial Talent Show

Outstanding Community Service by an Organization Award: The English Society

Senior Community Service Scholars: Alison Clark and Justine Bush

Volunteer of the Year Award: Laura Klym

Sister Vincent Humanitarian Award: John Best, coordinator of the Volunteers in Mission program of the Williamsport District of the United Methodist Church and chair of the VIM program for the entire Susquehanna Conference

Founded in 1812 and celebrating its bicentennial during the 2011-12 academic year, Lycoming College is a national liberal arts and sciences school dedicated to the undergraduate education of 1,400 students. It offers 35 academic majors and is recognized as a Tier 1 institution by U.S. News & World Report. Located near the banks of the Susquehanna River in Williamsport, Pa., Lycoming is one of the 50 oldest colleges in the nation.

  • Leadership Winners

    Leadership Winners

  • Schoch and Seuren

    Schoch and Seuren