Students recognized during Leadership and Service Awards Banquet

Students recognized during Leadership and Service Awards Banquet

Download Image: Web

Lycoming College recognized co-curricular achievement on campus during its fifth annual Leadership & Service Awards Banquet on April 13, in the Recreation Center. The Seuren Leadership Speaker was Harry Perretta, a 1978 Lycoming alumnus.

With more than 30 years as head coach of Villanova University's women's basketball program, Perretta has established himself as one of the most respected and knowledgeable coaches in the country. A true teacher both on and off the court, he strives to have a positive influence on his student-athletes not only as basketball players, but also as people.

Perretta's playing career at Lycoming was cut short by an ankle injury during his freshman year. He spent the remainder of his college years assisting the men's varsity and junior varsity programs and also aided the women's program. He earned a bachelor's degree in social studies and a secondary teaching certificate. In 1995, he earned a master's in education from Villanova.

At Villanova, Perretta and his staff stress the importance of the overall college experience and closely follow each player's academic progress. Ninety-nine percent of his student-athletes who have stayed all four years have earned their degree.

In his address, Perretta stressed the importance of service and learning through the relationships it creates, sharing several stories from his own life of those he taught and those who taught him. He credited Dutch Burch, former 32-year head coach of Lycoming's men's basketball program, as one of those individuals.

"I think there are people who will cross your path that you are obligated to help, but who will also teach you at the same time," he said. "You want to be respected more for what you give than what you get."

The Seuren Leadership Speaker Series was established in 2007 by Andrea D. Seuren, a 1976 Lycoming alumna, in memory of her parents. The purpose of the speaker series is to help build a culture of leadership at the College that espouses service, ethics and critical-thinking.

The award winners are as follows:

Male Intramural Sports Athlete of the Year: Dan Snyder

Female Intramural Sports Athlete of the Year: Maggie Benshaw

Interfraternity Council Spirit Award: David Zablocki of Lambda Chi Alpha

Interfraternity Council Service Award: Jordan Baker of Tau Kappa Epsilon

Interfraternity Council Scholar of the Year: Joseph Kuder of Lambda Chi Alpha

Panhellenic Council Spirit Award: Leannie Custodio of Gamma Delta Sigma

Panhellenic Council Service Award: Ashley Lubold of Alpha Sigma Tau

Panhellenic Council Scholar Award: Holly O'Hara of Alpha Sigma Tau

Fraternity Man of the Year: Kenneth Vicencio of Lambda Chi Alpha

Sorority Woman of the Year: Nicole Pish of Beta Phi Gamma

Fraternity/Sorority Advisor of the Year: Donna Weaver for Alpha Sigma Tau, student programs and leadership development administrative assistant

Chapter of the Year: Gamma Delta Sigma

Outstanding Program of the Year: Habitat for Humanity – Spring Break Trip

Student Organization Advisor of the Year: Larry Mannolini, director of student programs and leadership development

Student Organization of the Year: Campus Activities Board

Outstanding Leader on Campus: Laura Klym

Outstanding Community Service Program Award: Laura Klym - Senior Citizen Prom

Outstanding Community Service Fundraising Event Award: Relay for Life

Outstanding Community Service by an Organization Award: Alpha Rho Omega

Senior Community Service Scholars: Amber Nace and Nick Tomaskovic

Volunteer of the Year Award: Ashley Lubold

Sister Vincent Humanitarian Award: Dr. Daniel Doyle, professor of history, Pennsylvania College of Technology