2010 Leadership and Service Awards Banquet

2010 Leadership and Service Awards Banquet

Download Image: Web

Lycoming College recognized co-curricular achievement on campus during its fourth annual Leadership & Service Awards Banquet on April 14, in the Recreation Center. The Seuren Leadership Speaker was James Hubbard, a 1966 Lycoming alumnus. He worked for 36 years in various leadership positions at Mercury Marine, the world's leading manufacturer of recreational marine propulsion engines based in Fond Du Lac, Wis.As a community leader and volunteer, Hubbard has received a multitude of recognition. He has been inducted in the Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame, received a Golden Glow Award from the Association of Great Lakes Outdoor Writers and is an Ordo Honoris recipient of the Lycoming College Psi Chapter of Kappa Delta Rho.

In his address, Hubbard encouraged students to build relationships, make connections and remain active in community service projects throughout their lives.

"There is no feeling like the feeling you get when you help someone," said Hubbard. "Make time to get involved. Everyone should contribute to on-campus and off-campus communities."

Hubbard was the third presenter in the Seuren Leadership Speaker Series, which was established in 2007 by Andrea D. Seuren, a 1976 Lycoming alumna, in memory of her parents. The purpose of the speaker series is to help build a culture of leadership at the College that espouses service, ethics and critical-thinking.

The award winners are as follows:


Male Intramural Sports Athlete of the Year: Jason Stopper

Interfraternity Council Spirit Award: Greg Sledzik of Tau Kappa Epsilon

Interfraternity Council Service Award: Jordan Baker of Tau Kappa Epsilon

Interfraternity Council Scholar of the Year: Nicholas Tomaskovic of Tau Kappa Epsilon

Panhellenic Council Spirit Award: Julie Butler of Alpha Sigma Tau

Panhellenic Council Service Award: Jackie Kitner of Beta Phi Gamma

Panhellenic Council Scholar Award: Nicole Boardman of Alpha Xi Delta

Fraternity Man of the Year: Scott Reed of Tau Kappa Epsilon

Sorority Woman of the Year: Taylor Ramsay of Gamma Delta Sigma

Fraternity/Sorority Advisor of the Year: Sr. Catherine Ann Gilvary

Chapter of the Year: Tau Kappa Epsilon

Outstanding Program of the Year: Campus Activities Board for Spring Formal

Student Organization Advisor of the Year: Dr. Amy Rogers

Student Organization of the Year: Circle K

Outstanding Leader on Campus: Aaron Lay

Outstanding Community Service Program Award: Habitat for Humanity Spring Break Trip

Outstanding Community Service Fundraising Event Award: Hugs 4 Haiti

Outstanding Community Service by an Organization Award: Circle K

Senior Community Service Scholars: Dina Borishkevich and Jordan Snyder

Volunteer of the Year Award: Holly Andrews

Sister Vincent Humanitarian Award: Rev. Gwen Bernstine, executive director of United Churches of Lycoming County

  • Seuren Leadership Speaker James Hubbard

    Seuren Leadership Speaker James Hubbard

  • 2010 Leadership & Service Award Winners

    2010 Leadership & Service Award Winners