Chip Edmonds ’98
Alison Gregory ’97
Sarah L. Silkey, Ph.D.
Melanie Harris Taormina ’94
Teresa K. Sparacino
Mark Anderman ’75
CLASS NOTES EDITOR
Terri Brewer ’14
5 SUPPORTING STUDENT RESEARCH
LYCOMING COLLEGE NEWS
32 IRON SHARPENS IRON
JOHN W. LONG
A LOOK BACK TO SEE
In many ways, the John W. Long Library
was the first true library on campus,
allowing Lycoming’s collection to grow to a
size more comparable to that of other four-
year colleges — a distinction the institution
had only recently received.
Construction began on the building on May
7, 1950, and was completed the following
year. The library was finished and open
to students by September of 1951, with a
dedication ceremony during Homecoming
The placement of the structure helped to
cement into place what is today known as
the Fultz Quadrangle — an iconic space on
campus, cherished by alumni and current
The building was used as a library for only
a short time before the Academic Center
opened in 1968, providing a new home for
the library, at which time, Long Hall was
converted into an administrative building.
Today Long Hall houses the offices of the
president, provost, dean, financial aid,
human resources and college advancement.
PICTURED: Contruction of the John W. Long
Library in 1950's.
LYCOMING COLLEGE 2017 SPRING MAGAZINE
T H E CO L L E G E